To the central content area

News & activities

President Tsai attends inauguration of Paraguayan president and vice president
President Tsai attends inauguration of Paraguayan president and vice president

On the morning of August 15 local time (evening of August 15 Taipei time), President Tsai Ing-wen attended the inauguration of the Paraguayan president and vice president.

Before the ceremony began, President Tsai arrived at the Paraguayan presidential palace and, together with the other heads and deputy heads of state, walked to the palace's rear plaza to be seated. She then exchanged greetings and chatted with Uruguayan President Tabaré Vázquez, who was seated to her right.

The inauguration ceremony began with the playing of Paraguay's national anthem. Paraguay's Chamber of Senators President Silvio Ovelar then delivered remarks, saying he was delighted to see national leadership passed on to the younger generation. He also promised that the legislative and executive branches will continue cooperating to promote the people's well-being.

After completing his remarks Senate President Ovelar administered the oath of office to President-elect Mario Abdo Benítez and Vice President-elect Hugo Velázquez. A 21-gun salute and a flyover by military jets followed to salute the new president, vice president, and their guests from abroad.

President Abdo then delivered remarks, stating that the new administration will work together with the people to build a completely new Paraguay. He also pledged that his administration will run a strong government that listens to public opinion and cares for the underprivileged. It will also establish judicial fairness, stamp out corruption, and eliminate poverty by spurring economic development and creating job opportunities so that the people can live with dignity.

And finally, an oath of office was administered to all of Paraguay's cabinet heads, thus bringing the inauguration ceremony to a close.

In addition to the delegation from Taiwan, other heads of state attending President Abdo's inauguration included President Mauricio Macri of Argentina, President Michel Temer of Brazil, President Evo Morales of Bolivia, President Iván Duque of Colombia, President Jimmy Morales of Guatemala, and President Tabaré Vázquez of Uruguay.

Code Ver.:F201708221923 & F201708221923.cs
Code Ver.:201710241546 & 201710241546.cs