To the central content area

News & activities

APEC envoy Morris Chang attends 2021 APEC Economic Leaders' Meeting
APEC envoy Morris Chang attends 2021 APEC Economic Leaders' Meeting

TSMC founder Dr. Morris Chang (張忠謀), in his capacity as leader's representative, participated in the 2021 APEC Economic Leaders' Meeting (AELM), held via videoconference from 7:00 pm to 9:45 pm on November 12 (Taipei time), during which he successfully conveyed Taiwan's ideas and positions on a range of key issues.

In keeping with the APEC 2021 theme of "Join, Work, Grow. Together," the participants in this year's AELM explored ways to accelerate post-pandemic economic recovery, and sought inclusive, sustainable, and widely beneficial opportunities and solutions to post-pandemic challenges. The meeting also saw all 21 APEC members unanimously pass the 2021 Leaders' Declaration and the Aotearoa Plan of Action.

On the evening of November 11, Dr. Chang, accompanied by APEC Business Advisory Council (ABAC) representative Acer Chairman Jason Chen (陳俊聖), also participated in the ABAC dialogue with other APEC leaders. During the dialogue, member economy representatives and ABAC delegates discussed public and private sector perspectives on how to rebuild regional trade and economic activity during a public health crisis.

Although host economy New Zealand held this year's APEC meetings virtually due to the ongoing pandemic, meeting plans were as extensive as in-person APEC events in years past, and we are grateful for New Zealand's efforts. Over the past year, we have cooperated with New Zealand to hold meetings, actively participate in APEC activities, and make various contributions in areas in which we enjoy unique strengths, such as digital health, the application of emerging technologies, the economic empowerment of indigenous peoples, and green growth. These efforts have strengthened our cooperation with other member economies under the APEC framework.

At 10:00 am on November 13, Dr. Chang will also attend a press conference at the Presidential Office to brief the public on the results of this year's APEC meetings, including the Ministerial Meetings and the AELM. Dr. Chang will be joined at the press conference by Minister without Portfolio John C. C. Deng (鄧振中), Minister of Economic Affairs Wang Mei-hua (王美花), National Security Council Deputy Secretary-General Hsu Szu-chien (徐斯儉), and Director-General Sharon S. N. Wu (吳尚年) of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs' Department of International Organizations as Senior Official for APEC.

Code Ver.:F201708221923 & F201708221923.cs
Code Ver.:201710241546 & 201710241546.cs